Hot News

AFC QBs in the Super Bowl; pretty much the same since 2003

  • Marcus Burnan
AP Photo/Jack Dempsey

AP Photo/Jack Dempsey

With a mere six days until Super Bowl XLVIII kicks off at the MetLife Stadium, New York some interesting things have started to emerge about the history of the event.

For example, every year since 2003 the AFC has been represented by pretty much the same quarterback in every Super Bowl.



As we can see from the above image, the AFC has been represented by either Tom Brady of the Patriots, Ben Roethlisberger of the Steelers, or Peyton Manning of the Colts and Broncos every year since 2003.  The only anomaly which breaks the trend is Joe Flacco of the Ravens making it to Super Bowl XLVII last year.

Another interesting thing you can spot from the graphic is that the AFC dominated the first half of the decade.  2003 and 2004 were wins for the Patriots, 2005 saw the Steelers beat the Seahawks in cont controversial fashion, and 2006 saw the Colts steamroll the Bears.

Since 2006 however, the AFC has only won two Super Bowls; Roethlisberger in 2008 and Mr. Anomaly, Joe Fkacco, in 2012.

The 2014 contest will be Peyton Manning’s third appearance in the Super Bowl.  Something else you notice is that Brady and Roethlisberger both have at least two winners rings (Brady’s first Super Bowl was in 2001 and isn’t included on the graphic).  Manning only has one.


Share & Rate

  • Rate this post

From Around The Web

From SK Network

discussion by

About The Author

Marcus Burnan

Marcus Burnan - manager

From SK Network