Bud Selig Won’t Change the All-Star Game Rule

Bud Selig: Photo courtesy of USATODAY

The 2002 MLB All-Star Game ended in an infamous tie, and the game has had a new meaning ever since. Beginning with the 2003 season, the MLB All-Star Game winner gained home field advantage in the World Series. In other words, if the National League wins tonight’s game, which ever team represents the National League in this year’s World Series will have home field advantage. Bud Selig is the MLB commissioner that put this rule into effect and currently holds the same position. Selig has had more than his fair share of critics for this All-Star Game rule, but he likes it and will not change the meaning of the game as long as he is in office. According to Mark Feinsand, New York Yankees beat writer for the NY Daily News, Selig says he is very happy with the current situation of the All-Star Game. Here are Selig’s words according to Feinsand:

I really like it. We were at a point where the game had become guys leaving after the third inning – some didn’t even wait until the third inning. … You take a game that’s clearly the best of all the All-Star Games and you give it some meaning. … I do think the game has been played in a different way. After 10 years, I’m very happy. When I’m gone in 2 ½ years, they can do what the hell they want.

These are pretty strong words from Bud Selig. For those that can’t stand the home field advantage rule of the MLB All-Star Game, it looks like you just have to deal with it for at least another two seasons. Selig isn’t changing his mind on this subject.

discussion by

From SK Network

One Response to Bud Selig Won’t Change the All-Star Game Rule

  • bridesmaid dresses sale says:

    Im no professional, but I imagine you just made the best point. You obviously fully understand what youre talking about, and I can really get behind that. Thanks for being so upfront and so honest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

RBTS Staff
Site Manager
David Whitlock
Site Assistant Manager
Nicholas Persichilli
LeRoy McConnell III
Tyler Birss
Lorenzo Mejia
Tristan Tippet
[05:21:31 م] Jason Whitney: