College World Series Primer

  • Ryan Kantor

The most underrated sports league out there, NCAA baseball, has reached it’s apex–the College World Series. Played in Omaha, Nebraska each year the College World series is the equivalent of the Elite 8. The eight teams play in two separate pools with the winners facing off in a best-of-three championship series.

Bracket 1, which starts play on Saturday, includes Mississippi State, Oregon State, Indiana, and Louisville. Although Indiana and Louisville were hosts during the regional round, it is a surprise to see them in Omaha. Frankly, it’s always a surprise to see a team from the mid-west in Omaha. Oregon State, the number three team in the nation, should be the favored to advance out of this group, although double elimination style tournaments are extremely prone to upsets.

In bracket two, UNC and NCSU will rematch after an epic extra inning battle in the ACC Championship. Wake Forest won the ACC’s only CWS championship back in 1955. With disappointing exits by FSU and UVA, the research triangle rivals will be the ACC’s hope in 2013. UCLA and LSU make accompany them in what is likely the tougher of the two pools.

Now you’re ready for the upcoming weekend of baseball. Here’s your schedule! Enjoy!

TD Ameritrade Park Omaha

Bracket 1

- Mississippi State
- (3) Oregon State
Saturday 3 p.m. on ESPN2

- Indiana
– Louisville

Saturday 8 p.m. on ESPN

Bracket 2

- (1) North Carolina
– N.C. State

Sunday 3 p.m. on ESPN2

– (4) LSU

Sunday 8 p.m. on ESPN2

Join out contest to win a free $100 Nike gift card.

Ryan Kantor is an author at Reading Between the Seams. He is a life-long Yankees fan and a proud Clemson alumnus, residing in North Carolina, where he works in marketing research. For more stories like this, you can visit his personal blog at and follow him on Twitter at @Ryan_Kantor.

Share & Rate

From The Web

From SK Network

discussion by

About The Author

Ryan Kantor

Ryan Kantor - editor

One Response to College World Series Primer

Leave a Comment

Fill Out All Required Fields

8 − = 1

From SK Network