WATCH: Umpire finds new way to blow call, cannot discriminate who caught ball

  • David Whitlock

Another rough on for Blue, as this time, on a 3-6-3 double play ball.  The throw beats Seattle Mariners runner Jesus Sucre to the bag, but the player (Texas Rangers first baseman Mitch Moreland) with his foot on the bag doesn’t actually ever possess the ball.  The pitcher who was scrambling to cover, Justin Grimm, snagged the ball before it hit Moreland’s glove.  Jeff Nelson was the first base umpire on the scene.  Watch courtesy of MLB.com

I notice Nelson turns away from the action so quickly, it’s easy to see how he can’t tell who actually caught it.  Usually the umpires job to watch the play all the way through and see the ball in (any) fielder’s glove, but he fell short in that regard.  One that replay would have overturned?

– David Whitlock (@lhd_on_sports)
Follow us on Twitter @rbts_baseball

Share & Rate

From The Web

From SK Network

discussion by

About The Author

David Whitlock

David Whitlock - manager

David (a.k.a. Longhorndave or lhd_on_sports) joined the staff late in the 2012 season and moved to Site Manager in early 2013. A lifelong Houston Astros fan (and mini-season ticket holder for 9 years) he attends 20+ games per year. A statistics freak, David still keeps score the "old fashioned way" on occasion (and has kept manual score of World Series games since 1986 and retains the sheets). He was a featured guest weekly on the Phil Naessens Show. He is also a Texas Longhorns alumnus and huge football and baseball fan of his alma mater. When he isn't watching or writing about baseball, he works as a contractor at NASA Johnson Space Center. He lives by the mantra "a bad day at the ballpark is better than a good day anywhere else."

Leave a Comment

Fill Out All Required Fields


9 − = 5

From SK Network