WATCH: Umpire finds new way to blow call, cannot discriminate who caught ball
Another rough on for Blue, as this time, on a 3-6-3 double play ball. The throw beats Seattle Mariners runner Jesus Sucre to the bag, but the player (Texas Rangers first baseman Mitch Moreland) with his foot on the bag doesn’t actually ever possess the ball. The pitcher who was scrambling to cover, Justin Grimm, snagged the ball before it hit Moreland’s glove. Jeff Nelson was the first base umpire on the scene. Watch courtesy of MLB.com
I notice Nelson turns away from the action so quickly, it’s easy to see how he can’t tell who actually caught it. Usually the umpires job to watch the play all the way through and see the ball in (any) fielder’s glove, but he fell short in that regard. One that replay would have overturned?