Home / Uncategorized / 2012 Maxwell Award watch list released

2012 Maxwell Award watch list released 52

The Maxwell Award watch list was released today and highlights the beginning of the pre-season award watch lists.

The most prestigious of the two is the Maxwell Award, given annually since 1937 to the nation’s most outstanding collegiate football player. This year’s list includes 64 players, headlined by a quartet of semifinalists for last year’s Maxwell, USC quarterback Matt Barkley, Clemson quarterback Tajh Boyd, Oklahoma quarterback Landry Jones and USC wide receiver Robert Woods.

Nine of the eleven college football conferences are represented by at least one player on the list.  The Sun Belt and WAC are the only two conferences to feature anyone.

The Pac-12 have the most players with 14, while the SEC is second with 13.

USC led all school with four players named to the list with Barkley, Woods, wide receiver Marquise Lee and running back Curtis McNeal. Arkansas, Clemson and Oklahoma had three players apiece.

The entire list is pictured below:

For more news:

Follow us on twitter: @DownAndDistance
Follow me on twitter: @BKrumm1


Recent comments